The Department of Botany, University of Calicut has a long and distinguished history characterized by faculty and researchers who have made major contributions to plant sciences and, postgraduate education in botany over the past 50 years. It is one of the leading University Botany Departments of India in the field of post graduate teaching and research in plant sciences, especially Angiosperm Taxonomy.

The Department traces its origin back to 1963 as one of the four Departments at the Calicut Centre of the University of Kerala.  This Post graduate department had its inception under the University of Calicut in 1968 and became a full-fledged research department in 1975.

In the initial years after its establishment, the Department was recognized for research in the areas of Plant Taxonomy, Pteridology, Mycology & Plant Pathology, Plant Morphogenesis, and Genetics & Plant Breeding.

Prof.  B. K. Nayar, who was the Head of the Department from 1970 to 1988 and one of the most eminent pteridologists in India, was instrumental in developing the young Department into a reputed centre for postgraduate study and research. 

Prof. K. S. Manilal, Prof. V. J. Philip, Prof. Leelavathy, and Prof. Pavithran were other stalwarts at that time.

Shortly after Prof. P. S. Krishnan, a legendary biochemist,  joined the Department as an emeritus professor and with his profound scholarship, supported researches in the areas of plant physiology and biochemistry.

After that, in keeping pace with the advances in various aspects of plant sciences, the Department introduced divisions of Plant Biotechnology, Plant Diversity, Cell and Molecular Biology and Environmental Science.

Untitled 5

Other eminent facuty members, who served the department include Prof. Unnikrishnan, Prof. V. V. Sivarajan, Prof. Jose K. Mangaly, Prof. N. Neelakandan, Prof. S. Nandakumar, Prof. Philip Mathew, Prof. Aleyamma Thomas, Mr M. U. Rehman, Prof P. V. Madhusoodanan, Prof. M. Sivadasan, Prof. Nabeesa Salim, Prof. K. M. Jayaram, Prof. Sailas Benjamin,  Prof. K. V. Mohanan, Prof. M. Sabu and Prof. P Manimohan.

At present, the Faculty members include Prof. John E. Thoppil, Prof. Santhosh Nampy, Prof. V. V. Radhakrishnan, Prof. Jos T. Puthur, Prof. C. C. Harilal, Prof. A. Yusuf, Dr. P. Sunojkumar, Dr. Manju C Nair, Dr. M. Shamina, Dr. A. K. Pradeep, Dr. L. Resmi, Dr. K. P. Deepna Latha and Dr. C. Pramod.

No of Visits: 144915

Contact Us

Department of Botany
University of Calicut
Thenhipallam PO
Malappuram - 673635
Phone : (0494) - 2407406 / 407
Copyright © 2017 University of Calicut. All Rights Reserved | Powered By CUCC